Learning How to Realistic Flora

So this weekend I played around trying to learn how to create realistic grass, with the end goal of rendering a realistic looking forest scene.

Here’s the grass!

grass render 20150720

I’m pretty happy with the results for the most part. There’s 5 different types of grass:

  • Dead ground cover
  • Short grass
  • Slightly taller short grass
  • Medium length grass
  • Tall grass

It has been really hard but I’ve learnt a few things like how to use paintfx better, how to use an instancer to replace particles with objects (handy!) and how to use camera lenses.

I’ll save my grass assets so I can use them in future projects (yay time savers). Hopefully soon I’ll have a library of plant life I can use on my projects any time but classes start on Tuesday! I’m doing the Adv.Dip in Game Art online, starting with 3D Art Pipeline and Storyboard Pre-Production. Hopefully I’ll see some cert II people there 🙂

2 thoughts on “Learning How to Realistic Flora

Leave a Reply

